The Great Debaters!

The Great Debaters!

The 6th Annual Southshore Debate Competition was held on Thursday, March 6th and Friday March 7th 2014.

The Southshore Public Speaking Society proudly hosted the school’s 6th Annual Debate Competition last week. Six teams competed over two days for the win:

Team 1

Leader: Kenza Jamsheed
–          Burhan Abban
–          Alina Khawaja

Team 2

Leader: M. John Hussain
–          Kashaf Arif
–         Ibrahim Shah

Team 3

Leader: Rahema Hassan
–          Mohammad Asad Ali
–          Saad ur Rahman

Team 4

Leader: M. Rumail Malim
–          Syed Mohammad Haider Mustafa
–          Nusaiba Baig

Team 5

Leader: Syed Ali Murtaza Zaidi
–          Abdullah Sandeelo
–          Syed Bilawal Shah

Team 6

Leader: M. Ghufran
–          Farhan Saeed
–          Emad Ahmed

After hours of intense parliamentary style debating, it was down to Team 2 and Team 3 in the final round. Team 2 represented the proposition, while Team 3 formed the opposition for the motion: “This House Would Support The Death Penalty”. With great points on either side, it took the judges some time to declare the winners: the proposition, led by M. John Hussain, who also received the Best Speaker award.

View images of the event below:

The Final Qualifying Rounds 3 Qualifying Rounds 2 The Crew Qualifying Rounds The Jury The Champs


Posted in: Latest Events