ShoreMUN 2014: Dazzling Diplomacy!

ShoreMUN 2014: Dazzling Diplomacy!

The 4th Annual ShoreMUN conference was a smashing success!

This year, Southshore School for A-Level Studies hosted its fourth annual Model United Nations (MUN) conference for O-Level students on the 27th and 28th of September, subsequent to a training session on the 12th. The conference highlighted topics of increasing relevance to the world we live in today: nuclear globalism, the Ukrainian conflict, and international espionage. Delegates participated in three challenging and crucial committees of the United Nations General Assembly:

• DISEC – Disarmament and International Security Committee

• SPECPOL – Special Political and Decolonization Committee

• UNHRC – United Nations Human Rights Committee

ShoreMUN 2014 brought together students from eleven O-Level schools across Karachi, creating an exciting platform for participants to exchange stories and perspectives and leave with a broadened view of the world, exciting memories and profound ideas about global challenges. Kudos to all our young delegates for their hard work and commitment to doing their best!

And last, but definitely not the least – congratulations to the delegates from Haque Academy for winning the award for Best Delegation! It gives us great pleasure to announce the winners in each committee at this year’s ShoreMUN Conference:


Best Delegates:

  1. Alina Mubashir – Delegate of Turkey (Haque Academy)
  2. Binyameen Noor – Delegate of Georgia (River Oaks Academy)

Honourable Mentions:

  1. Maryam Dawood – Delegate of Cuba (Mama Parsi Secondary Girls School)
  2. Nauman Khan – Delegate of France (St. Patrick’s High School)
  3. Basima Sameer Dodhy – Delegate of United Kingdom (The C.A.S. School)
  4. Sadia Aaminah – Delegate of Mexico (Indus Academy)
  5. Shahzar Moazzam – Delegate of North Korea (The C.A.S. School)

Special Mention:

  1. Aleeze’ Abbas – Delegate of Japan (Indus Academy)


Best Delegate:

  1. Noor-ul-Huda Bhurgri – Delegate of Mexico (Indus Academy)

Honourable Mentions:

  1. Syed Muhammad Abdullah Minhaj – Delegate of United Kingdom (The C.A.S. School)
  2. Zoha Bashir – Delegate of France (Mama Parsi Secondary Girls School)
  3. Maria Shoaib Khan – Delegate of Libya (Haque Academy)
  4. Adnan Ahmed Allawala – Delegate of United States (Bay View Academy)

Special Mentions:

  1. Tabish Imran – Delegate of India (St. Patrick’s High School)
  2. Mina Syeda Manzar – Delegate of Russia (The C.A.S. School)
  3. Vinesh Kumar – Delegate of Canada (St. Paul’s High School)


Best Delegates:

  1. Ismail Shahnshahi – Delegate of North Korea (Hampton School)
  2. Sara Ahmad – Delegate of Ethiopia (Haque Academy)
  3. Humna Saad – Delegate of Ukraine (Froebel Education Centre)

Honourable Mentions:

  1. Edward Anthony Joseph – Delegate of Denmark (St. Paul’s High School)
  2. Zoha Batool Khan – Delegate of United Kingdom (Mama Parsi Secondary Girls School)
  3. Asna Atif – Delegate of Turkey (Indus Academy)
  4. Anmol Irfan – Delegate of Venezuela (Bay View Academy)
  5. Insha-ur-Rehman – Delegate of Cyprus (St. Patrick’s High School)

Click on the thumbnails below to view images of the event:

Best-Delegation Delegates-1 Diplomacy-1 DISEC Group-1 Group-2 Group-3 Group-4 Group-5 Group-6 Group-7 Group-8 Group-9 Group-10 Group-11 Group-12 SPECPOL UNHRC Winner-2 Winner-4 Winner-5 Winner-6 Winner-7 Winner---1 Winner---3

Posted in: Latest Events